New Secial Exhibition: "Micrometeorites"

Micrometeorites are cosmic dust particles that hit the earth every day, mostly unnoticed by us. When they enter the atmosphere, fascinating sculptures of crystals and glass are created. The special exhibition focuses on large-format photographs that reveal a strange, bizarre and extremely aesthetic world.

Trail of light over Bavaria

Social media and newspapers reported on a trail of light in the night sky that was visible last night and shone brighter than the moon. The event was also captured on the cameras of the Ries Crater Museum at 10.45 pm. It is not yet clear whether remnants of the chunk of rock that burned up in the atmosphere reached the earth.

New article on ESA geological training

In recent years, astronauts have visited the Ries Crater and the Ries Crater Museum as part of an ESA geological training program. A scientific publication about the training was published at the beginning of the year - a summary of the article is now available in five languages.

Nördlinger Ries

Around 15 million years ago, an asteroid around 1 km in size collided with the earth. The result of this cosmic encounter is the Nördlinger Ries, a striking landform carved into the Swabian-Franconian Alb. The approximately 25 km large, almost circular impact crater is one of the best-preserved craters of this size. The ejecta blanket of the Ries crater with the two most important rock formations such as suevite and variegated breccia is excellently exposed and was used by the Apollo astronauts as a training area for their moon missions. Follow in the footsteps of the astronauts!

30th anniversary of the RiesCraterMuseum

On May 6, 1990, the RiesKraterMuseum Nördlingen opened its doors in an architecturally pioneering renovated barn building, the old "Holzhofstadel", which is over 500 years old. Since its opening, the museum has welcomed well over 1,000,000 visitors.

Greetings from the Moon

50 years ago, Apollo astronaut Neil Armstrong was the first man to set foot on the moon. The RiesKraterMuseum has a special relationship to this fascinating event: in mid-1970, Apollo astronauts trained in the Nördlinger Ries for upcoming missions to the lunar highlands. Charles Duke (Apollo-16) removed the lunar "suevite" in 1972, which has been on display in the RiesKraterMuseum since 1990 and the museum still maintains close contact with NASA and ESA today.

RiesCraterMuseum Nördlingen

 

The RiesKraterMuseum is a natural science museum with the central theme of the formation and significance of impact craters and the Nördlinger Ries in particular. In an elaborately renovated medieval barn building dating back to 1503, the Ries event with its planetological roots and its earthly effects, which continue to have an impact to this day, is presented in six rooms.

News

Opening of the Exhibition “Micrometeorites”

13. December 2023 | Blog
learn more

Astronaut trainig program 2023 “PANGAEA”

22. September 2023 | Blog
learn more

Fireball over Bavaria

27. June 2023 | Blog
learn more

The sky over Nördlingen

Our 360° camera regularly photographs the sky above Nördlingen. The current image allows you to see what the weather is like in Nördlingen from anywhere. However, this is not the only purpose, because a time-lapse movie is created from the respective pictures of the night before – so we can also observe what was going on during the night.

Click here for the time-lapse movie of last night.

 

(aktualisiert einmal pro Minute)

Aktuelle Sonderausstellung

Die Ausstellung Molassic Park nimmt uns mit in die Zeit, in die auch die Entstehung des Rieskraters vor 15 Millionen Jahren fällt. Außergewöhnliche Fossilien und großformatige Rekonstruktionen lassen die Landschaft in der Ausstellung wieder lebendig werden. Ein besonderes Highlight sind die vor wenigen Jahren entdeckten, Aufsehen erregenden Funde des Menschenaffen „Udo“ …

Nördlinger Ries

Vor etwa 15 Millionen Jahren kollidierte ein rund 1 km großer Asteroid mit der Erde. Das Resultat dieser kosmischen Begegnung ist das Nördlinger Ries, eingesenkt als markante Geländeform in die Schwäbisch-Fränkische Alb. Der etwa 25 km große, nahezu kreisrunde Einschlagskrater gehört zu den besterhaltenen Kratern dieser Größenordnung. Die Auswurfdecke des Rieskraters mit den beiden wichtigsten Gesteinsformationen wie dem Suevit und der Bunten Brekzie ist hervorragend aufgeschlossen und diente schon den Apollo-Astronauten als Trainingsgebiet für ihre Mondmissionen. Begeben auch Sie sich auf die Spuren der Astronauten!

RiesKraterMuseum seit über 30 Jahren

Am 6. 5.1990 öffnete das RiesKraterMuseum Nördlingen in einem architektonisch wegweisend renovierten, über 500 Jahre alten Scheunengebäude, dem alten „Holzhofstadel“ seine Pforten. Seit seiner Eröffnung hat das Museum weit über 1.000.000 Besucher begrüßen können.

Grüße vom Mond

Vor 50 Jahren betrat Apollo-Astronaut Neil Armstrong als erster Mensch den Mond. Das RiesKraterMuseum hat ein besonderes Verhältnis zu dem bis heute faszinierenden Ereignis: Mitte 1970 trainierten Apollo-Astronauten im Nördlinger Ries für bevorstehende Missionen ins Mondhochland. Charles Duke (Apollo-16) entnahm 1972 den Mond-"Suevit", der seit 1990 im RiesKraterMuseum zu sehen ist und bis heute pflegt das Museum engen Kontakt zur NASA und ESA.

RiesKraterMuseum Nördlingen

Das RiesKraterMuseum ist ein naturwissenschaftliches Museum mit dem zentralen Thema: Entstehung und Bedeutung von Einschlagkratern und besonders des Nördlinger Rieses. In einem aufwändig sanierten mittelalterlichen Scheunengebäude aus dem Jahre 1503 wird – auf sechs Räume verteilt – das Riesereignis mit seinen planetologischen Wurzeln und seinen irdischen Auswirkungen, die bis heute fortwirken, dargestellt.

 

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Neuigkeiten

Ausstellungseröffnung Molassic Park

21. Dezember 2022 | Blog
mehr erfahren

Molassic Park Sonderausstellung ab Freitag 16.12.

15. Dezember 2022 | Blog
mehr erfahren

Kommende Sonderausstellung

22. November 2022 | Blog
mehr erfahren

Himmel über Nördlingen

Unsere 360°-Kamera fotografiert regelmäßig den Himmel über Nördlingen. An dem aktuellen Bild lässt sich von überall sehen wie das Wetter in Nördlingen gerade ist. Das ist jedoch nicht der einzige Zweck, denn aus den jeweiligen Bildern der Nacht zuvor wird ein Zeitrafferfilm erstellt – so können wir auch beobachten was in der Nacht los war.
Hier gehts zum Zeitrafferfilm der letzten Nacht.

 

(aktualisiert einmal pro Minute)